## Policy meeting Brussel, 11.6.2019

E-InFo-TED invited policy makers and educational leaders from the partner countries to a dialogue meeting to discuss how the role and importance of teacher educators as a professional group could be addressed. The E-InFo-TED White Paper (policy recommendations) was presented and discussed. There was genuine acknowledgement of the importance of this professional group for improving education, however, the invited participants expressed less clarity of how they would address the issue in their respective countries or at the European level. InFo-TED intends to continue the dialogue in the future.

## **Invited policy makers:**

Scotland: Ken Muir, General Teaching Council Scotland.

Professor Ian Rivers, Chair of the Scottish Council of Deans of Education (and Professor of Education for Social Change at the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow)

**England:** James Nobel Rogers, Head of the Universities Council for the Education of Teachers, Dr David Owen, Head of Teacher Education at Sheffield Hallam University

**Netherlands**: Miranda Timmermans, Chair of VELON, the Dutch Association of Teacher Educators, and Tycho Wassenaar, Secretary of the Dutch University-based Teacher Education Council

**Belgium:** Liesbeth Hens (Policy Advisor Teacher Education and Teacher Educators at the Flemish Ministry of Education) and Lieve Mertens (Coordinator of the Flemish Educational Programme for Teacher Educators)

**Norway**: Svenning Bjørke, Head University and College Council for Teacher Education and Sigmund Ongstad, NAFOL Board member

**Ireland:** CEO of the Teaching Council and the person who oversees Teacher Education at the Council; Mr Tomas O'Ruairc and Ms Phil Fox

**EU and invited speakers:** Marco Snoek, Associate Professor Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences , Graham Donaldson, professor, Glasgow University

## **Council members:**

Kari Smith, Norway Marit Ulvik, Norway Ruben Vanderlinde, Belgium Mieke Lunenberg, The Netherlands Yvonne Bain, Scotland Donald Gray, Scotland Ainat Guberman, Israel Mary O'Sullivan, Ireland Jurrien Dengerink, The Netherlands Gerry Czerniawski, England Jean Murray, England